Day 71: Remembering Loved Ones

Yesterday, 6 years ago, I was a college student excited to be on Spring Break.

I was packing and getting ready to take a trip down to South Beach with some girl friends. This was going to be a blast and we were so excited for some fun in the sun.

Before I finished up my packing, I met some friends from school for lunch. Oddly enough, it is a supermarket that is just around the block from where I work now…2 minutes away from where I am sitting at this moment. We all ate, discussed our plans for spring break, and made plans to see each other again before heading back to school. They all made plans to shop at the mall nearby and then head to Chinatown for dinner. Since I am such a procrastinator, I wasn’t ready for my flight the next morning, so I separated from the group and headed home to finish up packing. The plan was to finish packing and meet them up for dinner. As we split up from lunch, I said my goodbyes, and the last thing I remember hearing from my friend Tommy was, “You better come tonight! I promised you a ride in my car!”

Plans didn’t work out as planned. Packing took longer than expected. My sister had a sports banquet that my mother insisted that I attend. And before I knew it, it was too late to meet my friends. I texted that I couldn’t make it and promised I’d see them when I got back from Florida. Little did I know how the rest of their night would turn out.

Today, 6 years ago, I lost two great friends.

I miss them dearly and although my life has gone on, I still carry their memory close in my heart. I don’t know why good people are taken from us too early, I don’t know why others are spared and left to live out the rest of their lives; it still gives me chills to think that I easily could have been in that car with them.

I do know that we need to cherish the time we do have. Tell them you love them frequently. Forgive them easily. Visit them often.

“Before someone’s tomorrow has been taken away, cherish those you love, appreciate them today.”

And so, today, I honor my two friends that I have lost. I miss them dearly and wish they were still here with us. Most of all, I am thankful for those in my life now; especially my sister who had the sports banquet that day and my mother who insisted I attend with her…they were my guardian angels that day.

Until tomorrow…

vmo

Leave a comment