Day 58: Helping Strangers

Sometimes, life gives you an opportunity to be a good person, to help someone in need…and it’s all up to you whether or not you choose to take it.

On my way home from work today, I passed by a Hobby Lobby to pick up some arts and crafts items that I needed. As I was getting out of my car, I noticed a mom with a little toddler trying to juggle all her purchases while carrying the little munchkin as well. She was obviously struggling. My immediate response was to run over and offer her some help. She was immensely grateful and so I carried the big crate she just purchased filled with numerous other items while she carried the little one to their car.

For a split second I doubted my response to offer help since some people could get freaked out. But my desire to simply help outweighed any concerns…and she ended up accepting the help and was very grateful for it!

In this day and age, sometimes we can be weary to help others or accept help from strangers. I mean, with all the news stories, crazy tv shows and movies nowadays, strangers can be a little scary. But I’m glad that I offered and this person accepted. It reminded me that it’s still necessary to see good in all people. It’ll do the world a lot of good if we keep seeing each other as good people…because it’ll make us want to be good people.

And with that, I’m off to bed!

Until tomorrow…
vmo

Leave a Reply

