Day 43-47: Another Hodgepodge of Kindness!

Well, it’s looking like these weekend updates are staying! I wish I could say that I wasn’t able to post because I had a romantic Valentine’s Day weekend with someone special…but I didn’t! Haha! I was just plain ol’ busy this weekend! And onto my acts of kindness for the last couple of days…

Day 43: Valentine’s Day aka Singles Awareness Day came and went just like any other day. My sister did come out to watch my volleyball league game and treated me to dinner so that was sweet and then I met my cousin for a drink, which was much needed for the both of us. That was pretty much all to my day. I did manage to squeeze in an act of kindness though at work. I decided that everyone in my area deserved a little something sweet for Valentine’s Day, so I bought some chocolate and left it on their desks in the morning. I hope they enjoyed their little sugary treat for the day!

Day 44: Friday was a great morning…I mean, why wouldn’t it be great if you show up to work and see a bunch of sugary breakfast treats waiting for you?!? I wasn’t planning on having any (maybe just smelling it a little, haha!), but when I heard of what the occasion was, I gave in and took half of a chocolate croissant. The best part was hearing of the occasion for the morning treats! A co-worker of mine, Terry,  was celebrating her 1st birthday.

No, she isn’t 1 year old…she was celebrating 1 year of being CANCER FREE!

What a freaking amazing feat! Terry is such a strong and courageous person that I knew breast cancer had nothing on Terry. She was going to fight it to the end…and that she did! So, to honor her “1st birthday” and her strength, I made a donation in her name to the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation. If you would like to honor someone or give a gift on someone’s behalf, check out www.justgive.org. It’s a great way to gift someone while doing something for a great cause!

Day 45: Saturday was a two-for this week! I was able to help people in my life and act in two roles that bring so much joy in my life: event coordinator & cheerleader.

For those that know me, they know how HUGE cheerleading was in my past and how much I enjoy planning events. So, the chance to do these things while helping/supporting people I care about in my life, was a huge plus for me as well.

Saturday was a special day for one of my favorite couples! It was the day that they would officially become husband and wife. Since this ceremony was going to be a small celebration before the big wedding in August, they decided on having a few close friends and family over at their house to witness the bride’s dad officiate their marriage. A while back, I made sure that the civil ceremony was still on, and asked if I could help in any way, and the bride took me up on my offer. I spent Saturday morning working my magic and decorating/fixing up their living room to accommodate a small ceremony and dinner. It was such an honor to help and be part of their special day…I can’t wait to serve as a bridesmaid for their wedding in August!

Then later on I met my uncle and aunt to cheer on my little cousin perform at a Cultural Dance Competition. Considering this was their first time competing AND the fact that they were 1 of only 2 high schools performing against college level dance groups, they did amazing! You better believe that I was yelling and screaming for them as they performed! I can’t wait to see what they have in store for next year’s competition!

I was able to snap a video of their performance; though for some reason my phone cut me off. Why I didn’t use an actual camera, I have no idea! Especially since it was sitting in my purse right next to me! Haha! Here’s a clip of the Tinikling dance that they performed.

 

 

If you’ve never heard of the Tinikling dance before, it is a Filipino traditional dance, probably the most known Filipino traditional dance, that is named after the Tikling bird (Tinikling means “tikling-like” in Tagalog. It is supposed to look like a tikling bird dancing to avoid bird traps; which as you can see, there are two people clapping and sliding the bamboo sticks while people dance to the beat between the moving sticks. It may look easy, but it can be so difficult, especially when the music speeds up!

Day 46: Sunday was another typical Sunday for me, with the only big difference being that every 3rd Sunday of the month is Family day for Youth Church so I didn’t have to wake up early and head to Youth Church until 3pm. Instead of sleeping in and being a bum, I decided to help my mother and take down her Christmas tree. I know, it’s almost the end of February and the Christmas tree is still up?!? In everyone’s defense, everyone was in and out of the flu at the beginning of the year, then everyone got busy at work…so this was the first chance we all had to take down the Christmas tree. Once the tree was packed up and all the decorations were brought downstairs, my sister came home with lunch and we all sat down and caught up while eating lunch together. It was such a nice time to sit down with my family and enjoy each other’s company.

Day 47: Which brings me to today’s act of kindness! After bringing flowers to a nursing home back on Day 39, it really has brought to mind all those in the world that may be sick or injured without family or do not have family near to help. I have an ex-coworker that never had any children and her husband passed away quite early. Now that she is retired, it concerns me that she is home alone a lot, especially since she is fighting her own battle with cancer. I try to do what I can to offer help and visit when possible, but life gets in the way sometimes.

When I came to work this morning, I was saddened to hear that she is in the hospital and not doing well. So, I picked up the phone right away to call her and check on her status. She sounds well in spirit, but from what I’ve heard, her health is declining. I know it must be hard for her, and I sure as hell didn’t know what I could offer to help, so I kept the conversation light and tried to make her laugh. I updated her on my lack of a love life and other stuff going on with everyone here at work. She laughed and I felt like my phone call served its purpose. I promised that I would call again tomorrow to make sure I can visit her after work. Sometimes we underestimate the power of laughing in our lives and I hope our little laughs on the phone helped her feel better today.

Well, that’s it for now. Until tomorrow…

-vmo

Leave a Reply

