Day 30, 31, & 32: Simply Nice All Weekend

This past weekend was a bit crazy! With the Super Bowl, going away parties and birthdays…I didn’t have time to sit down and write about my acts of kindness! It was hard thinking of new ideas to execute, but opportunities arose and I took hold of them and went with the flow. It amazes me how we can unintentionally do an act of kindness and someone can point out how they appreciated it, or noticed it. My acts of kindness were of that style…nothing fancy, nothing pricy, just simply nice…and that’s what I did all weekend!

On Friday, it was a crazy day in the office. At the end of the day, I was ready to crawl into bed and forget that the whole week existed…I promised a co-worker that I would accompany her to a farewell party for another co-worker that I was acquainted with, but didn’t know well. If you knew me, you’d know that in my normal fashion, I probably wouldn’t have gone since I didn’t know the celebrant well, but I have been trying to be less shy and decided, why not? So, off we were to a restaurant/bar near the office. It was pretty surprising to see so many people from the entire company present to say goodbye to someone! I was very impressed and a little sad that I didn’t know this associate as well…I mean, if this many people wanted to wish him well, then he must have been quite an associate, right?

Anyways, here I was schmoozing with people from other parts of the office that I rarely see and in walks in a bunch of co-workers that had previously left for different opportunities. It was nice to catch up with some of them that I knew a little better and worked with personally in the past. But most of all, it was my chance to let them know that they are missed, not just by myself, but many in our company. I made sure I made my rounds and spoke to each of them. I reminded them that they were an asset to our company and they are greatly missed. Who wouldn’t want to hear this from a former associate? No one! I truly meant it and I hope it made them feel more confident in their abilities…though, I’m sure they didn’t need it, I’m sure it was nice to hear.

And so on to Saturday! I got a haircut that was quite a big deal for me. I have been sporting longer hair for some time now. I’m fairly attached with my hair; it’s been a little bit of a security blanket for me for a long time. But recently, I’ve had the itch for something new…for a change. And after many sessions searching the internet for ideas, I finally found something that I liked and went for it. I was a little dramatic leading up to the haircut, but managed to stay calm throughout the appointment (Thank goodness! I didn’t need to embarrass myself in front of the hair stylist!). When I got home, I think it sunk in that my hair was gone and I panicked a little. I wasn’t in the mood to see anyone and it really gave me an excuse to bail on plans that I had made for Saturday night.

I have 2 friends that were celebrating their birthdays as a group with a girl that I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT STAND. I know I sound  a little below my age by saying that, but I really just do not like this person. There really isn’t much else to say – I don’t respect her as a person so I choose not to associate with her, though it can get difficult because she is dating a friend. That was already reason enough for me to miss out on the birthday festivities…added to the fact that I was starting to freak out a little about my haircut, and it looked like I was already convinced that I would be staying home that night.

It wasn’t until I realized that it wasn’t very fair to miss 2 friends’ birthdays because of one person. I also realized that it was quite childish (ok, I admit it!) of me to refuse to go because of her. So, in good Christian-girl fashion, I sucked it up and went out. I put my differences aside and even wished the birthday girl a happy birthday. I’m sure the birthday boys were surprised to see me there and I was happy that I could wish them a happy birthday with the rest of the gang.

I know this may seem like a small or insignificant act of kindness, but let me let you in a little bit into who I am. I think I can be a kind and caring person. I easily get along with most people and I think I do a lot to help others, but that doesn’t mean I’m perfect. I’ll be the first to say that I am far from that…and one of my biggest flaws can be that I don’t forgive easily and can hold grudges. I’d like to think that it’s because I have a strong sense of the people I want to surround myself with, so if someone does something to prove to me that they are not trust-worthy, I have a hard time forgetting that and most likely end up separating myself from any association from them. So that is why this particular act of kindness was a bit of a stretch for me. I never would’ve gone to this birthday just for the simple fact that someone I disliked was one of the birthday celebrants, but I swallowed that pride and ended up actually having a good time.

And finally, Super Bowl Sunday! I spent most of my Sunday as I normally do by waking up and teaching Sunday School at my church followed by Mass with my family. I typically have about 15-20 minutes between when Sunday School ends and Mass begins where I usually sit in the church and reflect on the past week. This time though, I decided that I would stick around the entrance between the school and church and greet some of the families. I ended up holding the door open and greeting people as they came in. It was nice to welcome people to the mass and to see some familiar faces from past students that I have taught. Most importantly, I welcomed a couple new faces that I haven’t seen before; I hope that they felt welcomed if it was their first visit at our church and will continue to visit our parish.

After that, I was off to a friend’s house for some beer, food and football! I hope you all enjoyed yourselves yesterday and enjoyed all of the “bad-for-you” foods that are typically associated with Super Bowl Sunday! Ok, that’s enough for now!

Until later…

vmo

Leave a Reply

