Day 20: Stay Inside

Boy, today was another frigid day in Chicago! It’s the type of cold that you can feel all the way down to your bones…the kind of cold day that makes you just want to stay in bed all day cuddling under the blankets. I almost copped out and called in to work today, but my sister knocked some sense into me and reminded me that the day of PTO can go towards something better, i.e. a vacation.

So, off I went to work and tried to keep a smile on my face even though I really wanted to be in bed. It was worth it though, I got a lot accomplished and I even showed up for Zumba class! Zumba is part of an effort to finally live up to my yearly resolution of getting healthier and losing some weight. I’m pretty positive this will be the year…at least I’m hopeful!

After Zumba, I stopped by the fruit market for some items to make dinner and I saw a ton of carts out in the lot. I thought about how cold it was out and how someone working would have to leave the warmth of the store to go out and collect all the carts. So, I figured, since I was already outside, I could lend a helping hand and grab as many carts as I could. They must have thought I was crazy when I walked in the door with a long line of carts pushing them towards the cart area. I just shrugged off the crazy looks, smiled, and went about my grocery shopping.

Funny thing is I got home and had dinner and eventually ended up on the phone with my sister…we prepared the same exact dinner! Without even knowing what the other made beforehand!I’m not surprised though, because we’re both trying to eat healthier and this carrot dish is one of our faves. If you are trying to eat a little healthier, consider this carrot recipe. My sister and I LOVE it and it’s so easy to make! I swear you’ll think that you’re having homemade sweet potato fries without all the additional carbs!

 

Oven Roasted Carrots

In a bowl, toss carrots that have been sliced into thin slices with a little seasoned salt, pepper and olive oil. Once they have a nice coating, place them on a cookie sheet in one layer and bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 mins. You want the carrots to get a nice golden color and crisp at the edges. Then enjoy with any meal!

 

I promise you’ll enjoy them and might even get the little ones to enjoy their veggies!

Stay warm all!

vmo

Leave a Reply

